#### PLUMAS LAFCO MEETING MINUTES

## MONDAY, August 14, 2017 PLUMAS COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS CHAMBERS

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER - 10:00 a.m.

Present: Tom Cooley, Sharon Thrall, Bill Powers

Also Present: Jeffrey Greening, Michael Sanchez, Pat Morton, John Benoit

Absent: Kevin Goss

## 2. Approval of Agenda

Agenda approved as printed.

### 3. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair for FY 2017-2018

Alternate Greening nominated Vice-Chair Thrall for Chair for FY 2017-2018. Unanimous approval; motion carried. Alternate Sanchez nominated Commissioner Cooley for Vice-Chair for FY 2017-2018. Unanimous approval; motion carried.

## 4. Correspondence

John Benoit provided a copy of the certificate of insurance for FY 2017-2018 to the Plumas LAFCo Board to review.

## 5. **CONSENT ITEM(S)**

a. Chair Thrall requested an addition to the minutes for June 12, 2017 under the budget discussion that Alternate Greening is still due his stipends for his service, as he collected none during his tenure. John Benoit reminded the Board that the stipends for FY 2017-2018 have been lifted, but mileage remains the same. Unanimous approval; motion carried.

#### 6. Public Comment

Chair Thrall opened the floor to public comment. None made. Public comment period closed.

## 7. Authorize payment of Claims for July 2017 and ratify claims for June 2017

Commissioner Powers moved to approve the payment of claims for July 2017 and ratify the claims for June 2017. Alternate Sanchez seconded. Unanimous approval; motion carried.

#### PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION ITEMS:

8. Continued Public Hearing regarding the remaining service reviews for Plumas LAFCo including: Cromberg Cemetery District, Dixie Valley CSD, Feather River Canyon CSD, Feather

River RCD, Graeagle CSD, Johnsville PUD, Meadow Valley Cemetery District, Mohawk Valley Cemetery District, Plumas County Flood Control and Water Conservation District, CSA 7, CSA 10 and CSA 12.

Jennifer Stephenson requested the Plumas County Flood Control and Water Conservation District be removed and noted that Graeagle CSD also does street lighting. Graeagle Land & Water has received funding for waste water and the Graeagle CSD will no longer provide this service. Chair Thrall opened the floor to public comment. None offered; public comment period closed.

Commissioner Cooley moved to approve Resolution 2017-0004. Commissioner Powers seconded. Roll call vote; unanimous approval. Motion carried.

9. Public Hearing regarding the Spheres of Influence for the Almanor, Central Plumas, Eastern Plumas and Indian Valley Park and Recreation Districts in Plumas County.

John Benoit provided the information in the board packets. Public Comment period opened by Chair Thrall. None received; public comment period closed.

Commissioner Powers moved to approve Resolution 2017-0005. Alternate Sanchez seconded. Roll call vote; unanimous approval. Motion carried.

10. Public Hearing regarding the East Quincy Services District and the Quincy Services District reorganization consisting of the dissolution of the East Quincy Services District and the Quincy Community Services District and concurrent formation of the American Valley Community Services District.

John Benoit presented the information. Public comment period opened by Chair Thrall. Josh Nelson, attorney for both districts in this consolidation provided further information and updates to the Board and Lori Simpson spoke.

Commissioner Powers moved to approve Resolution 2017-0006. Alternate Sanchez seconded. Roll call vote; unanimous approval. Motion carried.

11. Brussard Annexation to the Chester Public Utility District. Consideration of an annexation of 50.40 acres more or less to the Chester Public Utility District.

Alternate Greening moved to approve Resolution 2017-0007. Commissioner Cooley seconded. Roll call vote; unanimous approval. Motion carried.

12. Authorize Commissioners and Staff to attend the Calafco Annual Conference in Santa Barbara October 24-27, 2017.

Correction: the location is San Diego. Commissioner Colley will attend with John Benoit.

## 13. Calafco Achievement Award Nominations.

John Benoit nominated Jennifer Stephenson for Outstanding LAFCo Associate. Alternate Sanchez moved to approve the nomination. Commissioner Cooley seconded. Unanimous approval; motion carried.

#### 14. Calafco 2017-2018 Nominations for the Calafco Board of Directors.

No nominations made.

## 15. Designate voting member and alternate voting member to vote on behalf of Plumas LAFCo at the Annual Calafco Conference in San Diego.

Commission Cooley will be the voting member with John Benoit as the Alternate.

## 16. Selection of Public Member and Public Member Alternate for a Term ending May 5, 2021.

Terry Swofford was interviewed. Commissioner Powers nominated Shauna Rossington for Public Member. No second. Alternate Sanchez nominated John "Dave" Loschiavo for Public Member. Commissioner Cooley seconded. Unanimous approval. Nomination for John "Dave" Loschiavo carried

Commissioner Powers nominated Shauna Rossington for Public Member Alternate. Commissioner Cooley seconded. Alternate Sanchez nominated Terry Swofford for Public Member Alternate. Vice-Chair Thrall seconded. Roll call vote taken for Shauna Rossington. Aye: Bill Powers, Tom Cooley. Nay: Sharon Thrall and Michael Sanchez. Roll call vote taken for Terry Swofford. Aye: Tom Cooley, Sharon Thrall and Michael Sanchez. Nay: Bill Powers. Nomination for Terry Swofford as Public Member Alternate carried.

# 17. Review proposal responses, discuss and provide direction to staff regarding the process of selecting a new LAFCo Executive Officer.

Responses received from Jennifer Stephenson and Elliot Mulberg. Copies of their responses were provided to the LAFCo Board for review. John Benoit recommended appointing Jennifer Stephenson as the new Deputy Executive Officer, the Commissioners present agreed and since this item was not on the agenda the Chair requested this appointment be placed on to the October 16, 2017 agenda. Discussion regarding this item was tabled to October 16, 2017, to interview both applicants for the Executive Officer.

## 18. Executive Officer's Report

John Benoit provided information on the Little Hoover Commission Policy and a draft of the AB 1361 Opposition Letter in the board packets.

## 19. Commissioner Reports – Discussion

Vice-Chair Thrall states that three fire departments in her Supervisorial District are starting discussions to consolidate or work on a JPA. John Benoit states that Plumas LAFCo will start looking at the SOI for C Road CSD, Clio PUD, Gold Mountain CSD, Grizzly Ranch CSD, Plumas Eureka CSD and Whitehawk Ranch CSD at October's meeting.

## 20. Adjourn to next regular meeting to take place on October 16, 2017

The next regular meeting will take place on October 16, 2017 at the Plumas County Board of Supervisors Chambers. Chair Thrall thanked Mr. Greening for his service and adjourned the meeting in memory of Commissioner John Larrieu. Meeting adjourned at 11:22 a.m.